Content Curation Visualization

As a librarian one of my responsibilities is to curate content for our library users, but I must admit that I hadn’t given much thought to content curation until the convergence of a study leave and this MOOC brought it to the forefront of my mind. Over the years I have experimented with various tools to manage the flow of information and I am constantly trying new ones.  I thought it might be useful to visualize the content curation process, so sketched out a somewhat simplified version of the flow.

cc_visual2

I noticed a couple of things from this exercise. There are some tools that are designed specifically for one facet of curation and others that transcend most of the  process.  Twitter is a source of information, has filtering capabilities and can be used for sharing that information; however it is not a good tool for storing content (apart from your own tweets).  Facebook also covers the whole flow which may account for its popularity.

My next steps are to focus on streamlining the curation process and to spend more time sharing.

This content is published under the Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

3 thoughts on “Content Curation Visualization

  1. Pingback: Staying Sane: Letting Go To Learn More! | Sue Waters Blog

Leave a comment